Looking back on the Kings of Speedway past

King's Royal is back in 2022 for their 10th anniversary racing event. Picture: Contributed

The Kings Royal was created one day in 2012.

It came about due to the South Burnett Speedway Club missing out on hosting the National Modified Sedan Title.

The concept was created to have the richest sedan race in Australia in Kingaroy Queensland.

The very first Kings Royal was scheduled for January 2013 and it has always been on or around the Australia Day weekend.

The very first event was washed out during the 2013 Australia Day floods and the massive weather event then last year in 2021 was cancelled due to Covid-19. The previous seven events have been huge successes for the club and this year’s is shaping up as an epic event to celebrate the 10th year.

2020 was the last time the event was run and it was an epic race with record crowds.

The Ian Boettcher Race Parts Kings Royal X will pay out over $40,000 in prize money with $26,000 of that paid during the A Main alone. This year’s winner will once again pocket a very huge amount of $10,000. This is why it is the richest sedan event in Australia.

With the first race in 2013 rained out and the ninth in 2021 cancelled due to the covid-19 pandemic, there are only a few outstanding King’s Royal champions.

Greg Worling won the 2014 and 2017 King’s events while Gavin Fletcher had a back to back reign in 2015 and 2016.

Matty Smith took the crown in 2018, Aidan Raymont in 2019 and Kye Walters stands the last to claim the title in 2020.

Everyone will be waiting in anticipation to see who the winner will be in 2022.

This year’s King’s Royal is an event not to be missed on Friday 21 January, Saturday 22 January and Sunday 23 January.