Stonehouse is once again open to all

The general public is invited to come along and explore the historical Stonehouse. Picture: Contributed

Moore’s Stonehouse was built in 1874 as a horse changing point for the Stagecoach that ran between Esk and Nanango, by members of the Williams Family.

It was built on the original stock route / Droving trail. The Stonehouse was heritage listed in 2002.

Stonehouse was an important part in the history of the Brisbane Valley, mentioned in the Old Drover’s Song “Ladies of Brisbane” and in many a legend of the Brisbane Valley and South Burnett.

Unfortunately over the years these buildings were allowed to slowly deteriorate into ruins.

We are hoping to create awareness of Stonehouse’s historical significance and gain support for this building to be rebuilt to their former glory before it is too late.

To promote the awareness and allow the public to learn the historical value of Stonehouse we have started an annual Open Day Event.

This is our third year now and each year we are introducing a new element, along with live music (local performers, food and drinks, historical displays and information) and a Bush Poet’s Breakfast on the Sunday.

The unique historical land mark is the only one of its kind in Queensland and is right here in our backyard.

To walk around these old buildings and soak up the atmosphere is in itself amazing, to imagine the Stagecoach pulling up in a cloud of dust with passengers from times gone by or the old drovers moving massive herds of cattle stopping for the night on their way to Brisbane.

Come along and enjoy the weekend with us. Access is by bus only (5 minute trip from Moore).

On 23 and 24 July the bus transport out to Stonehouse will leave Moore starting at 8.30am to 3.30pm with the bus shuttle leaving at 20-30 minute intervals. $10 per adult includes bus transfer and entry.