School leavers bursary now open

Last year’s Bursary winner, Olivia Almond from Kingaroy SHS with Deb at Parliament House in Brisbane. Picture: Contributed.

Member for Nanango, Deb Frecklington, has announced that Round Three of her Nanango Electorate ‘Year 12 School Leavers Bursary’ is now open.

Ms Frecklington said the $1,000 bursary was an important way she could support the region’s school leavers as they make the next step in their education journey.

“It is always a major step for our Year 12 School Leavers who must travel away for TAFE, university, or other training, and this bursary is one way I can help support them on this journey,” Ms Frecklington said.

“The Bursary aims to provide financial assistance with the costs associated with moving to their place of learning, tools, the purchase of books, IT or other necessary requirements.

“It provides me with an opportunity to show my support for young people who are passionate about furthering their skills and education, and who may not otherwise be able to afford to live away from home.

“Applications are now open to Year 12 students who live within the Nanango Electorate, with applications closing on 1 February 2022.

“Five applicants will be shortlisted and the successful recipient will be selected through a panel interview in early February.

“Last year’s winner was Olivia Almond who graduated from Kingaroy State High School and needed to move to Brisbane to take up her Bachelor of Vision Science degree. Olivia was able to use the Bursary with the costs associated with moving from her home at Pimpimbudgee to her new accommodation in Brisbane.”

If you would like to apply, go to Deb’s website at and follow the link, or contact the Electorate Office on 4190 7100 for Bursary guidelines.