History of Ringsfield House

One of the earliest photos of Ringsfield House, taken between 1910-1920. (Photo: QSL)

By Julie Berry

This superb structure was built as a private residence for a Nanango family in 1908.

It was designed by Queensland architect Robin Dods and some of its charming characteristics of a bygone era include wide verandahs and beautiful bay windows.

Ringsfield House has lived a varied life including having been made into a four ward maternity hospital in 1942.

From this date until 1970, almost 4000 babies were delivered.

By 1973 the house was a Lifeline womens’ refuge and continued in this capacity for a further 20 years.

From 1994 this beautiful building was restored by the Nanango Historical Society who turned it into a museum and historical centre. Recently it has also enjoyed operating as a very popular cafe, attracting locals and other visitors alike.

The impressive rose gardens surrounding Ringsfield House are a sight to behold.

Also, in the flower adorned grounds, you will find the original town school and church, bursting with history, both of which were relocated to this site and well worth visiting.

Several other buildings have been constructed from recycled timber obtained from other significant former landmarks.

Currently, and unfortunately, this elegant and attractive building set in stunning surrounds, is not being utilised.

The Queenslander style house with its high ceilings, tongue and groove walls, large rooms and polished timber floors, is the perfect venue for numerous types of events.

Apart from wedding receptions, the venue would sympathetically lend itself to cultural events including music amongst the roses, antique fairs and roadshows, art exhibitions and workshops, plus so many more.

Ringsfield House is a unique, eye catching landmark which attracts visitors from far and wide.

We residents of the South Burnett region are very fortunate to have this magnificent, character filled and visually appealing piece of history on our doorstep.